WELCOME!

Today marks two important milestones in my life.

First, at approximately 3:30 PM Eastern Time, I will officially turn 20 years old, forever leaving behind my fraying ties to childhood and welcoming adulthood with open arms. When pondering this day, I wondered aloud to myself: What am I going to do to both commemorate this achievement and form a bridge between my childhood and the unknown future? My answer was this creation, which brings me to my second milestone.

Announcing the launch of Wickipedia! As all of my close friends are aware, my two biggest passions in life are film and analyzing popular music, so I have created this site to incorporate both of these loves and share them with you, the public! I have timed this launch to line up with both my birthday and the end of the year, so that I will be an old pro at this WordPress thing by the time 2014 rolls around. Here’s a look at what you can anticipate in the next few weeks from this site:

STARTING TOMORROW: The 12 Days of 2013

Tomorrow, Billboard will officially release its last Hot 100 chart of the 2013 calendar year. Following some quick calculations on my end, I will be able to begin counting down the 101 Biggest Hits of 2013. The statistical system I have used all year to compile this list is one of my creation, and I will be sure to explain it in tomorrow’s post before unveiling songs 101-90. Each day for the next ten days, I will discuss the next ten songs on the exclusive list until the TOP TEN are revealed on December 28.

12/29: Ryan’s Picks for Best Songs of 2013

Following the completion of the Top 101 Countdown, I will reveal my personal favorites songs of the year that was. Unfortunately, some of the best songs out there don’t get quite the same exposure to iTunes sales and popular radio as they deserve. So, I will rank and discuss what I believe to be the 10 best songs released in 2013! More details to follow.

12/30: Ryan’s Picks for Best Films of 2013

On to my other favorite media outlet: the cinema. 2013 was one of the best years in recent memory for cinema, and it has been very tough for me to single out my favorites. However, I will knuckle down in the next two weeks to hash out my definitive list of the 10 Best Films released in 2013.

12/31: 2013: Ryan’s Year at the Movies

2013 was the year in which I found my true second home: the cushioned seats of my local multiplex. Over the course of the past 365 days, I have taken over 100 trips to the theater to take in a show. Thanks to the joyous occasions that are free advance screenings, this otherwise exorbitantly costly endeavor has become quite possible. So, to celebrate on the eve of 2014, I will publish the list of all the movies I saw in theaters this year, categorized in some qualitative way. Again, details to follow.

1/1/2014 And Beyond: The Routine

Once the ball drops and we hit 2014, I will begin my routine of weekly content. Here’s what you can expect on a regular basis from my end:

  • Each Thursday, Billboard releases a new Hot 100 chart. I will publish my reactions to the new chart each week, complete with an analysis/review of all the new entries, my opinion of the weekly song movements, as well as any historic occurrences or parallels I find. Of the new debuting entries, I will select one each week which I deem to have the biggest potential for future success. (Examples of these choices in 2013 were Safe & Sound and Royals.)
  • Movie Reviews: Either through advance screenings or Thursday night releases at the theater, I make a point to see at least two (if not all) of each weekend’s major film releases. As soon as I can write up a detailed review, I will post it here to help you plan your weekend at the movies.

Anything else music and movie-related that catches my creative eye is also fair game for this site. Before the Oscar Nominations are announced on January 16, you can expect my predictions for who I think will be nominated. Same goes for actual Oscar predictions in March. Basically, this is the site for anyone who wants to stay current with everything happening in the world of film and popular music!

I am very excited to start this endeavor, and I am quite glad that you have decided to join me on this adventure. So let’s give thanks for a truly great 2013, and gear up for an equally exciting 2014!

Stay tuned for the 101 Biggest Hits of 2013 starting tomorrow!

Until then,

Ryan

Leave a Reply

